FiftyNinth Time

June 20, 2010 at 7:23 am (Uncategorized)

Another good week!

The first piece of good news is this: do you remember that, a while ago, I mentioned an anthology being produced of anti-fascist stories? What do you mean, No? Weren’t you paying attention? Well, look. Listen. Concentrate and I shall inform you… The antho is called Never Again and it’s due out from GrayFriar Press in September, and it’s being edited by Joel Lane and Allyson Bird. Well, they’ve started announcing the contents, and I’m pleased to be able to announce that my story A Place for Feeding is one of the successful submissions! Yay! This is shaping up to be a really good antho – it’s got a lovely cover by Daniel Sierra, other authors confirmed as included include Steve Duffy, Tony Richards, Ramsey Campbell, Lisa Tuttle and a host of other top notch writery types, and it’s for a very, very good cause. So everyone’s happy, yeah? Well, no – Mark Samuels has been whining that he wasn’t invited to submit, claiming it’s part of some blacklist that he’s on because he dared to challenge the ‘group think’, rather than an outcome of the way he spoke about Ally Bird following her BFS win last year. There’s always one, isn’t there? I suppose it does raise an interesting point about the etiquette of anthologies – should you be entitled to submit to an antho, even if there’s personal animosity between you and one of the editors? Well, no, of course not – the moral of the story would seem to be, editors have all the power so don’t piss ’em off! Or at least, be prepared to take the consequences of your actions like a man… And anyway, let’s face it, does anyone care about Samuel’s self-centred and self-opinionated ramblings? No? Thought not. Never Again will, I’m sure, be an excellent and worthwhile book, and I’m proud to be a part of it.

In other news, my copy of Where the Heart Is turned up, and  lovely looking thing it is too! I’ve read the first two stories so far and have enjoyed both immensely (well, okay, I’ve read the first two and mine – it’s an author thing, okay?). This is another antho that I’m really pleased to be a part of , and it’s already picking good reviews: http://weirdmonger.blog-city.com/where_the_heart_is_gray_friar_press.htm Des’ comments about the antho are

Where the Heart is cover - available now!

positive, and his comments about my story in particular are spot on!

And that’s about it, I think. Work on the novel progresses well, and is feeling both positive and fun to do. My plan is to try to put at least 5000 first draft words a week onto it – we’ll see how that goes… I’ve also seen the proposed lineup of authors for an anthology I’ve been invited to submit to (no Mark Samuels there either – more evidence of the blacklist, no doubt…), and it’s fantastic. I have what I think is a strong story to do for it, but there’s also time yet (a surprising luxury, as most of my deadlines seem to be short at the moment!), so I’m not rushing it. I want to get this one right…

Okay, Lords and Ladies, that’s it, I’m done for the week. Go back to your lives and await further developments.

6 Comments

  1. marksamuels said,

    He loves me really.

    Mark S.

  2. simonkurtunsworth said,

    I do, in a red-headed stepson kinda way. Still, if everyone agreed with everyone else all the time, life’d be damned dull!

  3. Protral said,

    “Well, no – Mark Samuels has been whining that he wasn’t invited to submit, claiming it’s part of some blacklist that he’s on because he dared to challenge the ‘group think’, rather than an outcome of the way he spoke about Ally Bird following her BFS win last year. There’s always one, isn’t there?”

    Yes, and usually, the “one” is YOU, you blighter. Hahahahahahahahaha.

    Be honest.

  4. Protral said,

    Did you finally receive all copies owed you from Ghost Writer? How about a GWP update… have any other authors disengaged from GWP or is it all chapbooks and roses over there? They talk a good game on their site.

  5. simonkurtunsworth said,

    I very rarely moan and whine!

    I haven’t had anything to do with GWP for ages, although I will say that the authors who I’m touch with who are still involved with GWP seem to be really happy.. I can only hope it means that the problems I and others had were a mix of over-reaching and stress and that Neil J has sorted out the problems he clearly had. Fingers crossed that all involved benefit!

    S

  6. Protral said,

    “I haven’t had anything to do with GWP for ages, although I will say that the authors who I’m touch with who are still involved with GWP seem to be really happy. I can only hope it means that the problems I and others had were a mix of over-reaching and stress and that Neil J has sorted out the problems he clearly had. Fingers crossed that all involved benefit!”

    Interesting. I hope you’re right. Writers need all the help they can get. Between the internet changing how we get our entertainment, the various economies around the world, and the attention span of readers forever shortening, it’s an ongoing battle to get a toehold. You certainly seem to have firm perch in that aspect, Sir!

Leave a Reply

