FiftyEighth Time

June 6, 2010 at 8:56 am (Uncategorized)

Did you miss me? Was there longing in your heart as you waited for the next installment of the blog, as a soundtrack comprising mostly of Johnny Cash’s Hurt played in you mind? Was your life a void, empty and bleak, a mere waiting moment, anticipating my arrival?

No? Oh well…

Right, I have news. First of all, have you seen this:

Where the Heart is cover - available now!

Why am I posting this? Because, of course, I’M IN IT! It’s looking like a great anthology, and it includes (alongside my own little tale, ‘Scale Hall’) stories by Gary McMahon, Joel Lane, Stephen Volk, John Travis and a whole bunch of others – I can’t wait to read it!  It’s available for the bargain price of £8.99 (plus P&P)  from the Gray Friar Press website – www.grayfriarpress.com. Well, what are you waiting for? Go and buy a copy!

In other news (yes, I have more!), my story ‘Mami Wata’ (from the excellent Exotic Gothic 3 anthology) has been picked by editor of taste and distinction Stephen Jones for inclusion in The Mammoth Book of Best New Horror 21! To say I’m excited is an understatement, especially as the other contributors include Stephen Volk, Rob Shearman and Barbara Roden! It’s particularly gratifying to see Barbara in there, as she’s a great author and dererves more  recognition than she’s getting (in the UK at least – if you haven’t bought her Northwest Passages collection, why not? Do it now!). I’m hoping that Mammoth 21 will be launched at

Mammoth 21 cover

FCon, and that there’ll be a signing… I’m not completely sure that the cover here is the final one, but it’s the one on Amazon (my suspicion that it’s not ‘real’ is because it’s been on Amazon for ages!) so it’ll do for me. My little story about a Zambian water demon will soon be on the shelves of Waterstones and all other reputable and disreputable booksellers from October! Me, I’m happy.

Just a reminder: I have some copies of Lost Places in hardback left, so if anyone wants a signed copy (£25 plus postage) get in touch. It’s a good investment – after all, I might be famous one day! Probably not, I grant you, but you never know…

Anything else? No, that’s about it for now. Don’t want to overload you all… Back to your lives, Lords and Ladies, there’s nothing more to see here…

3 Comments

  1. RIJU GANGULY said,

    Nice to see that you are blogging at top speed & form. As usual, I would be looking forward towards reading the stories as & when they are available.

  2. dsurface said,

    Congrats again, Simon. The hits just keep on comin’..!

    BTW, a Zambian water demon, eh? Pray tell, how did that bit of inspiration come about?

    David

    • simonkurtunsworth said,

      Riju: thanks!

      David: thanks! The Zambian water demon is an easy answer: Exotic Gothic 3 is an anthology of gothic stories in non-gothic environments – we weren’t allowed to use the UK, France, Germany,etc. I chose Zambia because an old family friend lives there (I’ve never visited but would really like to), he works in mines so could fact check things for me (he’s also a proofreader!) and because, of course, I’m a fool who likes to make it hard for myself. Mami Wata, the water demon, is a genuine figure in African mythology, I jus kinda…borrowed her for a while!

Leave a Reply

