FiftySeventh Time

May 23, 2010 at 7:19 am (Uncategorized)

Well, I’ve been sliced and diced by the good artisans of the NHS, and I appear to have survived the experience. It’s been a long couple of weeks, and painful, but I’m almost mended. Another week or so, and I’m back at work and then normal life reasserts itself. Damn.

In writing terms, it’s been a quiet few weeks. I kind of assumed I’d been able to sit around, throat a bit painful, and write reams of new stuff, but actually it’s not worked out that way: between the pain, the drugs and the general tiredness, I’ve managed very little. I have a story to finish today for submission tomorrow, so I need to crack on… Not had any news about the various submissions I’ve already sent out, so I wait for them with bated breath…after all, I can’t get enough of those rejection emails!!

In other really rather exciting news, my hardback copies of Lost Places arrived! It’s a beautiful book, and seeing Jason’s full dust jacket cover (with the whole of Wendy’s photograph of Morecambe as well as all of Jason’s mutated section!) is a real joy. Morecambe has never looked so … weird! Take the sut jacket off (carefully, mind), and my name is on the spine is metallic letters. Heaven! THis is what being an author is all about… I’ve been busy sending copies out to the people I promised them to (Messrs Duffy, McMahon, Probert and Showers, take a bow), as well as a couple of review copies (one to Black Static, so I hope that the review will appear in either issue 18 or 19). I do have a couple of extra copies, so if anyone wants to purchase a signed (personalised if you want me to) hardback for the bargain price of £25 (plus postage – I think it’s about £2.50 in the UK, more to overseas), contact me direct and we’ll sort something out. Don’t wait too long, though, as I haven’t many left!

So, anyway, I best go and write. Scale Hall needs cursing with a demon fisherman, I think! Back to your lives, Lords and Ladies.

1 Comment

  1. David Surface said,

    Hey, Simon. Glad to see you up and blogging again. I know it’s hard to write when you’re not feeling well, especially after surgery. Good for you for tackling that submissions deadline. A deadline’s always good for getting back in the saddle. (BTW, is that the Scale Hall story you keep mentioning? Or another one?)

    It’s also good to hear how much joy you’re getting out of your book. It really is. My collection hasn’t been published yet, but I’ll never forget the thrill of ripping open that brown envelope and pulling out the anthologies I’ve been lucky enough to be published in. Something about holding the thing in your hand (after holding it in your mind for so long). It’s a buzz.

    That’s why I get all twitchy when I hear people predicting “the death of print”—I’m all for new technologies, but can you imagine never having that thrill of holding a copy of ‘Lost Places’ in your hand, smelling the paper, getting a paper cut (maybe that’s taking it a bit too far..!)

    Anyway, congrats again on the book, much pleasure in your writing, and I hope you feel 100% soon.

    David

Leave a Reply

