TwentySeventh Time

September 12, 2009 at 8:42 am (Uncategorized)

Well, the Ghostwriter thing is finally sorted, in that my outstanding items arrived – I got back from work to find 26 chapbooks waiting for me. I’ll never get the other things I still believe that I’m owed (and there was no sign of the royalties Neil had mentioned to me), but never mind, at least this way I get to walk away without having any further links or dealings with a company that I have ceased trusting or respecting. And that, my friends, is a result of sorts – it may have ended up as a disappointment in some ways, but it’s taught me valuable lessons about how I should deal with companies and individuals. And besides, who wants extra copies of a book riddled with typos? Not me! It also means I can finally put all my concentration into Lost Places, the forthcoming Ash Tree collection which I guarantee will be a thing of beauty and, of course, will have excellent content!

Not much has happened this week – I’ve been working away from home and my original plan was too do some writing, but when it came down to it, I simply couldn’t be bothered so I gave myself a week off. I did revise the swearing story, which (thanks to the harsh but fair criticisms of my friend Will) has been tightened and improved (I think). I have absolutely no idea what to do with it, but it’s been fun writing it. As for what’s next, I don’t know – there are a few stories bouncing around in my head, so I’ll probably pick one of them and crack on with it. It’s FCon next weekend, and it looks like I’m out for a curry every night, so God only know what I’ll look and smell like by Monday morning – I may be craving greenery and be prepared to eat the shrubbery by then…

Right, that’s your lot for this week. Short but sweet, friends!

Oh, no, wait – one more thing: I now have copies of my two chapbooks Button and Marley’s Haunting (both, I hasten to add, without typos!) to sell. Both stories have received good feedback and there won’t be any more of the chapbooks made, so these are genuine rarities – once these copies are gone, that’s it. If you’d be interested in purchasing a signed copy of either for only £1.75 including postage, email me and we’ll sort it out.

Leave a Reply

