Twentythird Time

August 8, 2009 at 7:13 am (Uncategorized) (, , , , , , , )

Black Dogs and Lost Places is no more.

This is a strange blog to write, because for the first time I have little positive news and a fairly hefty piece of sad news. Now, that may please those of you who were getting a bit teeth-grindingly tired of how chirpy I can be, and of how positive and light most of what I write in this blog is, so to you I say: stick with it, here’s your darkness!

So, anyway, this week I took the difficult decision to withdraw my work from Ghostwriter Publications. This was far from a pleasant thing to do, and I spent a long time considering it and my other options and studying my contract before deciding to go ahead, but I honestly felt that I had reached the point where I had little choice. Ghostwriter is a new firm, and it has signed some excellent, talented and nice writers (some of whom I’m happy to be able to call, if not friends exactly then certainly friendly acquaintances who aren’t friends yet simply because I’ve not actually managed to get inside a room with them), but I was struggling more and more with how it was going about doing business. Ultimately, it boiled down to a simple clash of philosophies, with a very clear set of differing priorities developing between us. In the end, I came to the conclusion that our relationship was simply not viable, because I didn’t feel I could work with them effectively, and I’m sure Neil had started to think of me as an ego-driven diva (for the record, I’m not. Well, not much, although I am finally confident enough in the quality of my writing to be clear about what I want and how I expect it to be treated, and clear enough about how I expect people I’m working in partnership with to act). Practically, what this means is that Black Dogs and Lost Places is no more, and the other proposed work (the Strange Gateways mini collection and the possible novel next year) won’t come out either, which is a shame. And I won’t get to use the cover Neil came up with, or have my launch and signing at FCon, but that does mean I can go along to that particular weekend and not worry about anything. So, beer and insanity for the whole 48 hours it is then… Of course, I’m still linked in to Ghostwriter because of my stories in Creature Feature, although Neil tells me he’ll remove them from any new print runs which isn’t particularly what I wanted but is, of course, his right as editor and overall boss of Ghostwriter. I hope to receive my contributor copies of Creature Feature this weekend, and I’m looking forward to reading it. I hope that Ghostwriter sorts itself out, because it would be a huge shame if it didn’t, and I wish the company and especially all the authors still involved it all the best with their future endeavours.

So, now I’m considering my options. I’ve spent so long (just shy of a year – okay, it’s not that long but it’s still quite a chunk of time) considering and working on Black Dogs that it feels very odd to think it no longer exists even in potentia. Its definitely sad, but it’s not entirely bad news. Clearly, I hope that I can interest another company in working with me on a collection and whatever I produce can include some of the more recent stuff that I’ve been doing, but honestly, at this point, I think I’m going to sit back and take a breather for a few days. A lot’s happening for me at the moment (new jobs, rapidly growing children, just life generally) that I’m going to enjoy just writing for writing’s sake again. I’ll concentrate just on enjoying the stories for a bit – after all, its what got me into this game in the first place.

Having said all that, I did manage to complete one story in draft, the long-delayed animals tale that I originally wrote longhand on holiday and which has been lurking in my notebook and daring me to type it up ever since. I had a couple of train journeys this week, so used them to get that particular joy sorted, and the result is pretty good I think – certainly, initial feedback is positive, anyway. It still needs a polish, and I want to add some detail about scorpions and spiders (Wikipedia here I come! fuck accuracy, I like simple user interfaces!) but then it should be ready to unleash it on the big, wide world. Watch this space…

No reviews. Still too lazy and been a bit distracted with sorting the Ghostwriter stuff out. Promise I’ll do some soon. Honest.

Okay, Lords and Ladies, that;s your lot. Go back to whatever you were doing, there’s nothing more to see here…

3 Comments

  1. Simon Strantzas said,

    It’s a tough thing, but I’m sure you made the right call. There’s bigger and better for you around the corner, you’ll see.

  2. Christopher Roden said,

    I have absolutely no doubt that you made the right call, Simon. You’re going to look good in hardback. Crossing fingers that we’ll all be able to announce something very soon.

  3. Jim Rockhill said,

    I did not realize you had left Ghostwriters until I checked the site today, and could not find your book! A difficult decision, I am sure. Do not envy you that in the least; but I have no doubt will come of this decision before too long. Your work is too good to remain “stranded”.

    Does your reply mean Ash-Tree will picking up the collection, Chris?

    Jim

Leave a Reply

